Book List

10 Oct

Good morning!

It’s been a couple days, but they have been rather busy on this end with getting back into a study routine.

First up, breakfast!

I started my day immediately with a hot cup of pumpkin spice coffee.  Yum.  I can’t get enough.  I wish I had my vanilla almond milk instead of skim, but it’s good all the same.

My meal consisted of 2 scrambled eggs, a scoop of roasted garlic hummus, cheddar cheese, a dash of parsley and a handful of fresh organic spinach open faced on half of a whole wheat English muffin.

Book List

Last night, I consolidated a list of books that I have been keeping track of wanting to read on the computer.  I love reading, but with school and my schedule lately, my days are early and as well as my evenings.  So, reading something I enjoy often takes the back burner.  I’m currently on the 3rd Chronicles of Narnia book, which has been enjoyable, but it’s taking me a while to get through the whole series.

Unfortunately, I started taking a liking to reading later on.  I wasn’t much of a reader in high school, but did enjoy the books that were assigned in school (Lord of the Flies, To Kill a Mockingbird and The Outsiders were a few favorites).  I haven’t read much of the most popular books that come to mind, but I’m working my way towards getting them off my list.  I recently had a conversation with my hair stylist who is an avid reader and I made it my absolute goal to read more often when time allowed.

Books that you have probably read, but I haven’t yet:

  • Harry Potter (Only read Book 1 so far)
  • The Hunger Games (Only read Book 1 so far)
  • The Chronicles of Narnia (Only read Book 1 and Book 2 so far)
  • Gone Girl (I’m really hoping to get a hold of this one before October is over)
  • How to Eat a Cupcake (The title intrigues me)
  • Sarah’s Key
  • Wild

Oh, the list could go on.  Needless to say though, I have a lot to catch up on!

Off to work!

What’s on your ‘to read’ list?  How do you make time to catch up on your favorite books?

I think I’m craving time to myself more then anything these days.  Reading helps me escape and to concentrate on other things rather then working out, what to make for dinner, what assignments are due that week, etc.

Have you entered my Who Nu? Giveaway yet?  Only a couple more days to win a sweet and nutritious treat!

11 Responses to “Book List”

  1. Carrie October 10, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    I read “The Chronicles of Narnia” in middle school I think; I liked them, but I don’t remember all that much about the series now. I’ve actually only read the first four Harry Potter books. Even though I loved “HP and the Goblet of Fire,” I lost interest after it and couldn’t get back into the series. One of my old college profs loves “Gone Girl” (I’ve never read it), and I *love* “The Hunger Games!” I’ve read all three books at least three times. 🙂

    • Sand Between My Sneakers October 10, 2012 at 7:55 am #

      The Chronicles of Narnia is definitely for that age range, but they are a fun read. I feel like with the hype of the movies in the past few years, I should probably read them too. I still haven’t watched the movies with the goal of reading the books first. Same with Harry Potter. I started the second book, but never finished it. It’s not my favorite, but I probably just haven’t dedicated enough time to it.

      I NEED to finish the Hunger Games. My husband finished them all in about a week or so when I actually finished the first book before him! I just need to organize my time better.

      I’m glad to see you’re all settled in NYC! I’ll be there this weekend with some friends 🙂

  2. Janet October 10, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    I love to read, it is the most relaxing thing I know to relieve stress. Problem is once I get
    started I don’t want to stop!

  3. Janet October 10, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Have fun in NYC, wish I could go!

  4. toeachherownblog October 10, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    I read Gone Girl this summer and LOVED it! It is a true page-turner and very surprising. I have a hard time reading for fun since I teach high school English and have to keep up with what my classes are doing. It’s rewarding when I can make time for myself, though – good luck!

    • Sand Between My Sneakers October 10, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

      I have only heard great things about that book and I thought it would be a perfect read for October. I ordered it at the library and I’m currently number 771 out of 771 on the list to get it. I’m hoping at least 700 people can’t put it down and finish it in a couple days so that number goes down quick 😉

  5. Emily October 10, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    I used to be an avid reader, but I definitely don’t read as much as I used to now that I’m chasing two little boys all day long. My only free time is in the evenings or nap time and there are so many other things to get done! I have read most of the books you listed (HP being my fave series, followed by Narnia and Hunger Games.. All great!) Right now I am reading The Memory Keeper’s Daughter for book club. Good luck with you reading list! 🙂

    • Sand Between My Sneakers October 10, 2012 at 1:48 pm #

      I can understand that. I grew up watching my mom reading late into the night, but not until after we were older. Probably why I want to get into reading more as well.

      I envy that you have read so much. My book list is currently 4 pages long…but it has books added and taken away (once I finish them) often. I am not really into “series” books, so that’s why the above are harder for me to get into, but I want to finish them since they were such a big part of our generation (especially HP). I’ll let you know when I get through with them 😉

  6. J October 10, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    Andrew and I are on the third Harry Potter book. I have to agree, time is not always on my side either. Wish I could read more! So many good books out there.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Apple Salad « Sand Between My Sneakers - October 10, 2012

    […] posting this morning’s post, I buckled down at my work computer and before I knew it, it was was lunch time.  I decided to […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

