Apple Salad

10 Oct

Today flew by!

After posting this morning’s post, I buckled down at my work computer and before I knew it, it was was lunch time.  I decided to spend my lunch in the gym doing a “quick” and “simple” workout and chose my Simple Treadmill Circuit.  I should really think about changing that name…I was a sweaty mess.  Since I’ve been running outside more with this beautiful fall weather, the treadmill and I are not doing so well.  I also kept my incline up at a 2.0 the whole time I ran.  I felt it.  Tomorrow is a long run before my NYC trip this weekend.  I’ll be walking, but I won’t be running at all from Friday to Sunday 😉

For lunch, I started with my favorite Pumpkin Pie Protein Smoothie before putting together a leftover bowl of soup.

I used Pacific Foods All Natural Southwest Vegetable Soup as my base and added some leftover pulled chicken and leftover Buitoni Whole Wheat Three Cheese Tortellini for some added depth.

Warm me up!

It tasted pretty awesome and made it’s way to my dinner plate as well.

Apple Salad

While tons of blogs are blowing up with all of their tasty  pumpkin recipes, I can’t forget that there is another favorite food in season as well.  Apples are getting tastier as the temps cool and I decided to put together a fall apple treat to change up all the pumpkin I’ve been consuming in the past week.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup of cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup light mayonnaise (I used light Miracle Whip)
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2 cups apples, diced
  • 1.5 bananas, sliced

Blend the cottage cheese, mayonnaise, cinnamon and sugar in the blender until creamy (about 3-4 minutes).

Pour mixture into a bowl and toss apples and bananas together.

Serve and dash with a little extra cinnamon for some added flavor.  Extra cinnamon is always allowed.

That’s it!  A simple dessert or side dish to go with your next meal.  I plan on eating more with my breakfast tomorrow. 😉

While making this dish, I kept humming that song, “I like to eat, eat, eat, apples and bananas!”  Does anyone else remember that song?  I can’t remember the whole thing, but I know one thing is for sure,  I’ll take my fair share of both any day!

What are your favorite apple recipes?

I love hot apple cider and homemade applesauce.  Anywhere there is hot apple cider around fall time is where my spending money goes.  It’s the perfect cool evening, non caffeinated treat.  Motts doesn’t hold a candle to homemade applesauce.  The chunkier, the better!

Have you entered my Who Nu? Giveaway yet?  Only a couple more days to win a sweet and nutritious treat!

9 Responses to “Apple Salad”

  1. catcristy October 10, 2012 at 11:12 pm #

    Yum, the salad looks good, but I don’t know about the mayo. Why mayo?

    • Sand Between My Sneakers October 11, 2012 at 6:15 am #

      I agree, I don’t like mayo alone at all, but it gave it the creamy texture I was looking for and a stronger taste. I used Light Miracle Whip, so it wasn’t very think and I probably used a little more then a 1/4 cup only. (That was all that was left). Still tasted great!

      I’m currently eating it with my breakfast. It’s a simple recipe for a change up. Let me know if you give it a try!

      • catcristy October 12, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

        Thank you! I’ll let you know how it turns out.

  2. Gettin' My Healthy On October 11, 2012 at 12:29 am #

    That apple salad recipe is intriguing! I might have to try that sometime. I love apples in salad-type concoctions as well as in baked desserts like apple crisp. Mmmm.

    • Sand Between My Sneakers October 11, 2012 at 6:16 am #

      Mmmm, warm apple crisp sounds fantastic. Apples taste best in warn desserts, I will admit.

  3. Carrie October 11, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    Yep, I totally remember that song! Once fall hits, I feel like apples can be overshadowed by all things pumpkin. I made baked apple chips (http://fitnessandfrozengrapes.com/2012/09/27/baked-apple-chips/) a few weeks ago, and the turned out great. Have a blast in NYC! 🙂

    • Sand Between My Sneakers October 11, 2012 at 6:17 am #

      Your chips look so easy! I’ll probably give them a try next week.

      Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Janet October 11, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Barney. I think.

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

