Very Berry Fluffy Pancakes

7 Oct

Last night I came down with a late evening migraine which sent me and Ed to bed around 8:00PM.  The sleep aid I took led me into 12 hours of deep slumber and I woke up much better.

Ed and I decided we were going to have a lazy morning before church and all of our normal Sunday activities.  I found this recipe through Elaine’s Page through All Recipes and tweaked it with what I had in my kitchen.

Very Berry Fluffy Pancakes

1 cup all-purpose flour
2 Tbsp granulated sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
3/4 cup Chobani Blueberry Greek Yogurt (I used 1 8 oz. cup)
1/4 cup skim milk
1/4 cup fresh strawberries, hulled and diced (I used frozen strawberries from my freezer)

First, whisk egg in bowl.  Add yogurt and milk.

Egg, milk, yogurt

Add dry ingredients (flour, sugar, powder, soda, salt) to wet ingredients and stir till combines.  Add strawberries and fold.

Heat skillet on medium high heat and place tablespoons of batter on hot skillet.  Flip after a minute or after golden brown.

Serve with fresh fruit, syrup, powdered sugar or desired toppings.  We ate ours with powdered sugar and maple syrup.

I sided my pancakes up with some hot pumpkin spice coffee with skim milk (I Love our Kuerig!).

Pumpkin Spice Coffee with Skim. Autumn in a coffee mug.

I found the pancakes a little difficult to flip with the fresh strawberries, but they came out very tasty.  The Greek yogurt gave the cakes a thicker consistency and much more staying power then the average pancake.  After three fluffy, berry cakes, I won’t be hungry for a while! 🙂

Nutritional Info (From Original Recipe)
Servings Per Recipe: 10
Amount Per Serving:
Calories: 74.0
Total Fat: 0.6 g
Cholesterol: 18.5 mg
Sodium: 18.1 mg
Total Carbs: 13.9 g
Fiber: 0.7 g
Sugars: 4.9 g
Protein: 3.3 g

After church I’ll be grocery shopping,  hitting the school books, Ed and I will be finishing up this weeks 40 Days in the Word study, Ed has a volleyball game at 5:30PM and then our small group tonight.

Happy Sunday!

What’s on your Sunday schedule today?

P.S. Come back tomorrow to take part in my first blog giveaway!  It’s sure to satisfy your sweet tooth in a more nutritious way 😉

2 Responses to “Very Berry Fluffy Pancakes”

  1. Big Hungry Gnomes October 7, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Your berry pancakes sound like the ideal way to start the day. I love the idea of using greek yogurt in the batter to make a really healthy and filling breakfast, ideal for a lazy Sunday morning. Thanks for sharing

    • Sand Between My Sneakers October 7, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

      Thanks for your comments. My worst snacking habits are usually in the morning if I don’t eat a filling breakfast. Greek yogurt is great, but I need to mix it up every so often. Pancakes are the perfect way to do that 😉

      Thanks for visiting! Great blog yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

