October Goals

1 Oct

Happy October!

Today was a crisp 72 degrees and I loved every minute of it.  It’s the perfect day for a run which is exactly what I did with Ed after work today.  Well…we tried.

About a mile and a half in, I ran into a little girl who fell off her bike.  Ed wasn’t far behind when we found that her shoelace was completely stuck around her petal.  Three other guys helped till her dad caught up and had nail clippers on him to clip her loose.

It never fails to amaze me what people have on them in time of need.  Nail clippers.  In his pocket.  On the running trail.  Sure.  It got her loose though and although a bit shaken up, she was riding again in no time.  Kids are so resilient.

Immediately after that, the rain started to pour down and we booked it to the car.  Did I also mention that I forgot my shoes at work today, so no lunch workout either.  It’s the workout that never was.  Sometimes, you just gotta do what you gotta do and hope for a better day tomorrow.

October Goals

I have a lot of goals lined up in my head for this month.  I’m really motivated to put a lot more cardio into my daily routines and lengthen my workout time for the month.  It’s challenging with working full time and be a full time graduate student, a wife, a friend, etc.  These are my tops goals:

  • Run 80 miles in one full month. I stole this one from Katie when she beat it last month.
  • Run the Marine Core 10K (October 28th) in under 60 minutes.  This is possible, but I’m not holding my breath.  I need to really commit to sprint training the next 28 days.
  • Finalize our Disney Budget and pay off our trip for the Disney World Half Marathon in January.  I’m looking forward to showing you all how we paid for this trip without touching our savings account even once!
  •  Stay committed to our 40 Days in the Word study with the addition of schoolwork next week.  Make it a daily priority instead of an afterthought.
  • Have a fantastic girl’s weekend in New York City!
  • Wake up by 5AM most weekday morning and 6:30AM on most weekends.  I really do love the mornings and feel the day is more complete if started before 8AM.  I think this will help with my extra cardio goals too.

What are your goals for this month?  Fitness?  Personal?  I want to hear them.  Let’s encourage each other!

11 Responses to “October Goals”

  1. Amanda October 1, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    Nice goals! I hope I can finish my 10k with a smile on my face, start my new job without any major issues, start saving my money better and sleep at least 7 hours a night.

    • Sand Between My Sneakers October 1, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

      Awesome! I like your goal for the 10K better than mine. It’s more realistic. I am always smiling at the END of the race 🙂 I really like the sleep goal too. Very important and necessary to meet the fitness goals!

      • Amanda October 1, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

        Truth. I wear cranky pants without a decent amount of sleep! And it’s my first 10k, so not feeling like garbage after is another goal, haha.

      • Sand Between My Sneakers October 1, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

        Haha! I totally understand. You will do great at your 10K. I can’t wait to see your results 😉

      • Amanda October 1, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

        Thank you! I’m excited to run and write about it =)

      • toeachherownblog October 3, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

        80 miles in a month?? I will be beyond impressed – keep up the good work 🙂

      • Sand Between My Sneakers October 5, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

        Haha! Thanks. I’m up to 12.85 as of yesterday (10/4). As long as I continue to plan my time right, I think I can do it. I’ll keep you posted!

      • toeachherownblog October 5, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

        Please do! I hope to hit 50 this month, which is a monumental task for me. I will use you as motivation!

  2. alaine66 October 2, 2012 at 2:53 pm #

    Great goals! I don’t have too many for October because I will be busy enough with my new job and moving, but I do have my first 10 miler that I hope to finish in 1hr 30 mins or less 🙂

    • Sand Between My Sneakers October 2, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

      Your new job and moving sound like they have a lot of goals in them already! Good luck on the 10 miler! From what I can see, you are in good shape for meeting that goal for sure!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chilled Tomato Soup with Shrimp and Ed’s Homemade Pesto « Sand Between My Sneakers - October 2, 2012

    […] pour of rain since yesterday and massive puddles just everywhere.  I didn’t want to risk another short run in between rain spurts, so it was me and the treadmill today.  You know what though, it […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

