Friday Run Around

28 Sep

This morning, my alarm went off at 6:15 AM and I was ready to conquer the world.  The weather had other plans though.  It was pouring!  This was no drizzle.  The storm started last night and stuck around awhile.  I would have been drenched within seconds.  So, instead of skipping the outdoor run, I cuddled up with my Kindle for a while until the rain subdued and was able to get a short run in around 7:30 AM.

The hills got the best of me today.

It had to be short since I had to shower, eat and drive to my 9 AM doctors appointment.

With the humidity during my run from the rain, I was a sweaty mess and wanted something cold and quick.  A refreshing Cocoa Raspberry Protein Smoothie was all that sounded good.

Ingrediants

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 large handful of frozen raspberries
  • 1 8 oz. cup of Raspberry Chobani Greek Yogurt
  • 1 scoop cottage cheese
  • 1 tsp. cocoa
  • Enough vanilla almond milk to get everything moving
  • 1 packet of instant coffee (optional)
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (optional)

I added the coffee to put a pep in my step to get the day going and it worked 😉

Chocolate Raspberry Smoothie

It was such a pretty color too!

After the doctor, I zipped through Wegman’s for a few produce things before lunch and my hair appointment at 12:30 PM.

Lunch

In an effort to clean out the fridge I used the last of some spaghetti sauce to make mini pizzas with Nature’s Own Multi-Grain Sandwich Rounds in the toaster oven.  I added some extra mushrooms to the sauce and onions.  I sided it up with a big salad, with baby carrots and three different salad dressings (balsamic, zesty Italian and regular Italian).  There was a only a small amount left of a couple of those, so my salad was extra flavorful today. 😉

I added a clementine for some sweetness that I picked up at Wegman’s. These things are just so darn good!

Cute and delicious!

Soon I’ll be off to get my hair cut and I’m still unsure which direction I want to go.  I have been growing my hair out for some time and it is looooong.  I think I’m good with committing to 1-2 inches, but don’t want to go to drastic.  I was thinking about going darker, but I’m not sure I’m ready for that dramatic look just yet.  I’ve always been a blonde.

What is the most dramatic thing you have ever done to your hair?

When I was in high school, I was much more adventurous (and had a lot less bills).  I had blonde highlights with red streaks and low lights often.  I was constantly in the hair salon and usually just told my stylist to do what she thought would look best.  She loved seeing me come in because my hair type took to color so well and she got to experiment.  Now, it’s strictly blonde highlights.  I tried going back natural for a while in an effort to save money, but I’m a true “dishwater blonde” and I felt so washed out every time I looked in the mirror.

Oh, the things we sacrifice for beauty 😉

7 Responses to “Friday Run Around”

  1. Amanda September 28, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    In sixth grade, I chopped off all my hair and had a very short cut for about a year before I started growing it back out. I will most likely never do that again!

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 28, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

      Oh wow. I think I would feel relieved for a while with the lack of blow drying if I went short, but eventually I would miss the long hair. The shortest I’ve ever gone though was right above the shoulders. I need enough to tie it back whenever necessary.

  2. thedancingrunner September 28, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    Oh that’s a good idea for those sandwich rounds! I love the honey wheat kind. I will definitely try that out!

    Most dramatic thing I’ve done is color my hair this maroon-ish color for fall…I liked it but I think I like my golden highlights better!

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 28, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

      Yum, I’ll have to try the honey wheat kind too. The rounds worked for the pizza, but they were definitely thin after toasting. Made for a bit of a mess, but definitely tasty 🙂

      “Maroon-ish” sounds really pretty too. My stylist and I talked today about going darker, but she insisted on sticking to blonde this time cause she thought it would look better. Maybe one day I’ll be daring and just go for it!

  3. alaine66 September 28, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    That smoothie is sooo pretty! I was really adventurous in high school as well…every six weeks I had a new color. Red, dark brown with highlights, blonde with brown low lights, blonde with highlights 🙂 Now I am all natural and super blonde because it is so time consuming and expensive to keep up with hair coloring.

  4. Gettin' My Healthy On October 3, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Mmm that smoothie looks so good! And the most dramatic thing I’ve probably ever done to my hair is donate it at the end of high school. I’m about to donate it again in about a month, but this time I’m considering getting full-on bangs. We shall see if I’m feeling adventurous enough.

  5. Melissa October 5, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    My hair’s been every color from light blonde to Lucille Ball red to deep auburn. I was a ginger until I was about three years old, then my hair turned blonde, followed by dark blonde. My hair started going gray in my mid-20s and ever since then it’s been better living through chemistry! Just got my hair done last week and went darker reddish-blonde for fall.

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

