Sweetwater Tavern

23 Sep

On Saturday evening, we were invited to dinner with friends Amir and Tina.  Tina and Ed work together and Amir and I happen to work in the same type of field.  Talk about a coincidence.

We always enjoy going out with these two because they are a wealth of knowledge when it comes to great restaurants in the area.  Once again, they did not steer us wrong.

As usual, we managed to have our dinner out in Virginia at Sweetwater Tavern.  We really do eat at places in Maryland on occasion, but apparently, it hasn’t been a priority lately.  We’re branching out!

Dubbed a “Great American Restaurant”, Ed and I were both surprised and excited to find out that Sweetwater had it own brewery located inside the restaurant.  So, naturally and with no hesitation, I started my meal with the Naked River Light lager.

Naked River Light

It was light, golden and clean.  Just how I prefer it.

With our drinks, we also indulged in some of their beer bread or beer donuts to be more descriptive.  Made from beer from their brewery, these beautiful little creations could easily be mistaken for a dessert.  I may have encouraged a second bowl before our meals actually came.

Beer in bread…Genius.

Just saying.

For my meal, I chose the Hickory BBQ Burger since it sounded most appropriate with my drink of choice.  The burger was smothered in melting cheddar jack cheese and hickory BBQ sauce.

Hickory BBQ Burger with Sweet Potato Fries

I chose sweet potato fries as a substitute for the Great American fries because, well, you just can’t beat them.  The hickory BBQ sauce was sweet and tangy and matched the cheddar jack cheese very well.  I couldn’t manage to get it all down, but the flavor didn’t escape as leftovers for lunch the next day. 😉

Don’t you worry, you’re coming home with me.

Ed went with the traditional 25 oz. Black Angus Prime Rib and it cannot go unmentioned.

Traditional 25 oz. Black Angus Prime Rib

Sided with red skin mashed potatoes and homemade horseradish, Ed was in meat heaven.  Easily one of the restaurants most favorite dishes as I couldn’t help noticing it’s presence on every table around us.

This restaurant was definitely a favorite for Ed and I and is going on our list of restaurants to take our out of town visitors.

What is your favorite “Great American” restaurant?

6 Responses to “Sweetwater Tavern”

  1. thedancingrunner September 24, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    That place looks delish…mmm beer bread! I used to live in VA in the Hampton Roads area right by the water…loved the seafood there. I miss it…yum!!!

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 24, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

      It was delicious! It had the consistency of a soft, fresh donut. Thank goodness we were with friends or I would have ate more then my share.

      We just moved to Maryland last year from Ohio and we love the seafood too! Where did you move away to?

  2. alaine66 September 24, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    That burger looks awesome! I love sweet potato fries as well. I will have to say that the loaded sweet potato at Texas Roadhouse is the best way to have one though…it is covered with toasted marshmallows, brown sugar, and caramel 🙂

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 24, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

      Beer and burgers just go hand in hand. While there were many things I could have chose, it just seemed right 😉

      I think I tried that yeeeaaars ago! I remember it tasting like a dessert. Yum!

  3. Janet September 25, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    Yum, I want to go there next time we visit. How far from you was it?

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

