Opposite Day

22 Sep

This morning, Ed and I were definitely on an opposite schedule.  At 6:20 AM, I get a whisper in my ear saying “I’m going out to run.”  I was not even the smallest bit motivated to even try this morning.  I was beat.  So, he left while I slept.  When he returns around 7:45 AM, he showered crawled back into bed and I left to push myself to do, well, something.

I wasn’t in the best mood for a workout this morning, so I started on the treadmill and it turned out to be a pretty good sweat.

When I got home, I did about 10 minutes worth of abs before showering and making breakfast.

Ed opted for the fruit and cereal route while I made two scrambled eggs filled with mushrooms, parsley and garlic powder, half a toasted whole wheat bagel with Munster cheese melted on top and a glass of orange juice.

Ed is currently out running errands, while I opted to stay in this morning and clean the place and bag our Goodwill items to take this afternoon.

I wonder how many more opposite tasks we can manage today?

Do you consider you and your partner pretty “one in the same” or  the typical “opposites attract” love story?

I think Ed and I are usually on the same wave length.  The reason we started hanging out was because we were the only people we knew that loved real sushi.  So, we started visiting local sushi places together which escalated into much more similar interests.  We are definitely opposite in the sleeping routine though.  The man can seriously function on 3 hours of sleep daily.  I can’t.  7-8 hours…minimum.

P.S. I added a Healthy Snacks page to my Recipes page.  Check out last night’s salty treat!

7 Responses to “Opposite Day”

  1. alaine66 September 22, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Good job getting up and working out! I wouldn’t say we are opposites, but I voluntarily wake up early to workout while he has to wake up early just to go to work. After work and on the weekends we are both in relaxation mode though!

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 22, 2012 at 11:10 am #

      I can relate to that. My husband’s schedule for work changes weekly, while I have to be on the road by 6:15 AM to get to work by 7AM. At that hour, we don’t work out in the morning together often 🙂

  2. frhuman September 22, 2012 at 12:33 pm #

    It is almost scary how alike my husband and I are!

  3. uberbeastmode September 22, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    Opposites attract in this relationship for sure! She’s a morning person, me not so much… to say the least!

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 25, 2012 at 11:12 am #

      Oh, how I would love to be a “morning person” who gets up with no difficultly. The say seems so much more complete to me when I can manage an early morning start.

      • uberbeastmode September 25, 2012 at 10:26 pm #

        Yeah no kidding! Getting up is a painful process for me! 🙂 For me it doesn’t necessarily matter what time I wake up, I just have to wake up on my own. If I wake up to an alarm, bad. Wake up on my own and it’s early? I’ll be fine!

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

