‘Just in Case’ Clothes

22 Sep

Today has been eventful and I’ve barely left the house.  We are going through some major arranging in our little space and purging, purging, purging.  Clothes, books, shoes, handbags, electronics.  You name it.  It’s possibly in a bag right now on it’s way to Goodwill.

We did break for lunch and I made a fantastic Mango Raspberry Protein Smoothie.

Mango Raspberry Smoothie

Mango Raspberry Smoothie

  • 1 handful mangoes (I used a whole fresh mango)
  • I handful of raspberries (I used a handful of some fresh raspberries that were frozen)
  • 1 8 oz. container of Chobani Mango Greek Yogurt
  • 1 scoop of cottage cheese
  • 1/2 – 1 scoop Vanilla Protein Powder (optional)
  • 2-3 ice cubes
  • Skim Milk to get everything moving

It was just what I needed since the weather went from pleasant fall to warm and sticky.

On the side, Ed started our salads with Italian salad mix, a sprinkle of Artisan cheese and his homemade dressing.  I added sliced strawberries for some extra bite.  His dressing made the whole salad a little nutty in flavor.  Which is ironic because he is allergic to nuts.  Odd, but filling.

Check out our new glasses from the Sares Rib Burn Off this year.  They make perfect smoothie glasses.

Clothes Donations

I’ve always struggled when I should donate my clothes because I feel like my body is always changing.  It seems like when my clothes are to small, I have no hesitation donating them out of my life, but when they are to big, I keep them around “just in case” I gain that extra weight back.

True story.

Apparently I had more confidence gaining back the weight then actually keeping it off.

One of my old co-workers  put this idea into my head and I would not recommend living by it like I have for so long.  For example, currently I wear a healthy size 6 in most jeans.  At one point in my life, I was a size 12 and some of those jeans were still floating around in my closet, “just in case”.

Will I ever be that size again?  I don’t know.  Will I ever want to be that size again?  Most likely not.  So, I could potentially keep these items in my closet for years under the “just in case” wardrobe and never wear them again.

Today (and some of this past week), I finally am saying goodbye to the “just in case” clothes and moving on to continuing my active lifestyle.

Now, who wants to go shopping 😉

4 Responses to “‘Just in Case’ Clothes”

  1. Melissa September 22, 2012 at 7:03 pm #

    I’ve been doing a lot of purging all over the house. Going from a three-bedroom house to a bedroom-and-a-den apartment, and realizing storage space isn’t cheap in New Jersey, things gotta go. It’s been quite liberating at times. Also, it has made me think about what matters in terms of a home, clothes and possessions.

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 23, 2012 at 4:08 pm #

      I can relate. Since moving to Maryland, everything is not cheap. We have one storage unit on our patio, which is great for totes, but I don’t like keeping many others things out there. (A mouse chewed his way in there when I first moved…Yuck! It’s since been plugged up, but still.)

      I love the feeling of the house feeling “lighter” when we go through everything. I’ve also noticed I’m much less frustrated when I look in my closet and see a bunch of clothes I enjoy wearing rather then struggling through all the ones I haven’t worn and won’t wear probably ever again.

      Thanks for your comments!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 40 Days in the Word – Week 1 « Sand Between My Sneakers - September 23, 2012

    […] Ohio.  After service, we split.  Ed went to Goodwill to drop off our items from yesterday’s purging adventure and I went to serve in the […]

  2. Banana Custard « Sand Between My Sneakers - September 28, 2012

    […] After my hair appointment this morning, I came home to get cracking on more sorting and organizing after donating so much last week. […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

