Strange Encounters

20 Sep

Last night, beauty sleep was not in my future.  I woke up several times in a panic thinking I overslept my alarm.  For whatever reason, I’ve developed this fear of doing just that at least once a week and it seems to be getting worse.

By 4AM, I surrendered.  I played with my phone and eventually made my way to getting ready for the day.  Luckily, I did feel rested, so no complaints.  Just some annoyances.  I like sleep at that particular hour.

Thanks to the extra time, I was able to make a pretty exciting breakfast for a weekday.

I started with one Van’s Multi-Grain waffle.

Topped it with one, soft scrambled egg and cheddar cheese.

This ended up being a warm, gooey sandwich. Yum!

Mmmm…tasty.

Work was less then stellar today, but Ed was dressed and ready for our run for the afternoon when I got home.  So, I laced up and we headed to our favorite running path.

We separated right away only to cross once.  There were butt-taps and weird looks as we past each other.  You laugh, but it really happened 🙂  Good game.

I ran longer on purpose today.  This was my second time using the MapMyRun app that Ed introduced me to and it seriously has encouraged me to run longer and harder.  While I don’t think I’ll ever be incredibly fast, I do like knowing my progress.  Anyone have any suggestions for arm bands for Droids?

Now…I just need to double that distance and I’m golden 😉

It’s all about finishing in the upright position over here.

Dinner was a last look at Simmering Summer Chili minus the zucchini.  While ending my run, I ran through some of the prettiest auburn sun colors.  The sun was on it’s way to setting and the burnt oranges came through the trees to create some pretty awesome scenery.  It was fantastic!

An official welcome to Autumn!

Today’s run was great, but it was one of the more stranger ones as well.  It involved, ducks, deer, lights and bagpipes.  Yes, bagpipes.

Let’s go in order.

The duck came in right when I started straight towards the ankle.  Whatever spooked it certainly spooked me because I almost had a beak to the foot.  I never jumped so quick to the other side of the path.  She contained herself and went on her way.  Weird.

Deer are pretty typical while running in woodsy areas.  The deer today though could have easily been confusing the path for a street.

“We don’t move for you.” (Source)

They…..moved….so….slow.

I, the human being, made my way through the grassy areas to avoid them.  They watched me as I did this.  They were here first.

Lights.  Bike Lights.  It was broad daylight and this guy wanted YOU to know he was coming.  It was like coming into contact with a blaring headlight for a quarter mile.

Don’t look into the light!

Finally, the grand marshal of curious events on today’s run, bagpipes.  Around mile two, I was serenaded, bagpipe style.  Is that even possible?  While it was unexpected, I loved it.  I don’t listen to music while I run, so any excuse to have it around without having headphones in my ears and I can escape from my own thoughts for a while is appreciated.  Unfortunately, he had went on his way on my way back.

Come back again, bagpipe friend.

What are some of your strange encounters while enjoying the outdoors?

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

