The Lunch Box

19 Sep

Am I the only one that actually imagines their thighs blasting away when I do a lower body workout?

No one?

Forget I mentioned it, but today’s lunch workout was nothing short of a burning blast to the legs.

Let’s just say that my walk had a little swagger when I was done and I’m not even going to comment on going down the stairs.

I started with 5 minutes on the elliptical to get my legs moving.  I used two 5 lb. weights for the lunges and a 10 lb. weight for the plie squats.  I ended with a long inner and outer thigh stretch.

The Lunch Box

For as long as I can remember, I have a packed lunch when eating away from home for work or school.  When I was younger, I would beg my mother to buy lunch like many of the kids around me, but as I got older, things changed.

Eating out every day is expensive ya’ll!  In addition, usually full of unnecessary calories and the closest restaurants around my place of work are at least 10 minutes one way.

While I have got creative over the years, there are some necessary elements to my daily packing lunch routine.

First and foremost…PROTEIN!

I am one hungry girl on a regular basis.  PB&J’s are fantastic, but they won’t hold me through the afternoon.  Six small meals a day is a common practice and since my schedule often has me working out at lunch, I need to refuel, stat!

Most of today’s lunch.

Common Main Courses: Salad with meat (chicken, deli meats, fish, you name it, they have all made it into my salad), Sandwich flat breads/wraps loaded with deli meats and veggies, chicken breasts (cold, warm, BBQed, pulled)  its a perfect start.

Other appearances: Canned soup and baked potatoes.  Warm meals for the winter months are appreciated. Hard boiled eggs are great for post workouts too when I have them.

Next up, another staple, yogurt.  I usually try to stick with fruity Greek yogurt since it’s filling and has major staying power for the afternoon, but I’ll never give up my love for Yoplait (Key Lime is my absolute favorite!)

Fruit and Veggies: Somehow these usually last throughout the afternoon.  I munch on carrots, red peppers and celery (my cubicle can get pretty noisy) on a regular basis, with a side of hummus or sun butter.  So, so tasty.  Fruits are great too, but they don’t hold the filled feeling to me as long as veggies.

Water: Since my workouts take place post-lunch time, it’s a necessity.  I drink up a whole bottle in no time.

Desserts or snacks are rare in my lunch these days, but today I put two WhoNu chocolate chip cookies in there and considered lunch a masterpiece for the day thanks to their addition.  Who doesn’t love cookies?

Side Note: I have ALWAYS ate my lunch in the order of main dish, sides and THEN dessert.  Even as a child I would watch my friends rip in to their dessert first thing and I never did.  Is that strange?

While this is pretty typical day, leftovers are also a favorite when my timing is off in the morning.  Those are the days that lunch just can’t come fast enough!

What’s in your lunch box?

I’m in the market for a new lunch box.  The above lunch box was a quick Amazon buy a year and a half ago and it’s pretty much on its last legs.  I’m loving this one in Mocha Rouge or this one in Organic Poppy.  What do you think?

P.S. Have you liked Sand Between My Sneakers on Facebook yet? LIKE ME!  I’ll like you back 😉

9 Responses to “The Lunch Box”

  1. Gettin' My Healthy On September 19, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    I love how you get a “swagger” in your walk after a good legs workout. Haha. I’m going to think like that from now on. Makes jello-y and sore legs seem more fun. 🙂

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 20, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      Haha! Yeah, my walk was definitely looking a little different the first 30 minutes or so after this one 😉

  2. Emily September 19, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    I’m lovin’ the Vera Bradley lunch bag. You are such an inspiration with your daily workouts. I’m lucky if I get to the gym three days a week! Atleast the boys are finally okay with me leaving them in the childwatch while I work out. 🙂

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 20, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

      I think that one is my favorite too! The above workout can be done at home, just use your own body weight if you don’t have them or sumo squats if you don’t have an exercise ball.

      You will still get a great burn. I’ve been caught doing arm strengthening with big bottles of laundry detergent. No shame!

  3. Janet September 20, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    I like the mocha rouge from Vera Bradley.

  4. alaine66 September 20, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

    Your lunchbox is so cute! I pack my lunch for work too. I take a big tupperware full of veggies, a turkey/ham wrap, fruit, yogurt, and something sweet 🙂 I agree, eating out adds up really fast if you do it everyday.

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 20, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

      Thanks 😉 You probably can’t tell from the picture, but it’s ripped down both sides. It’s was pretty cheap, but it lasted out it worth.

      I personally like to save my money for fun dinners out instead of lunch, but everyone has their own thing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cookies & Cream Frozen Yogurt: Who Nu? Giveaway! « Sand Between My Sneakers - October 8, 2012

    […] your “cheating” on your fitness goals or your diet?  I know I like a sweet treat at my midday meal every so often and these cookies are perfect to take the sweet edge […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

