New York City Soda Ban

18 Sep

Today has been a very gloomy day and with non stop rain and clouds.  It put quite the negative twist on getting my cardio in for the day.  I planned on getting a 45 minute run in outside today, but the weather just wouldn’t have it.  So, it was off to the gym I went.

It’s just you and me, kid.

Since I was more concerned about getting to the gym dry, I completely forgot about grabbing some kind of treadmill back up plan.  So, this is what I came up with.

It is really hard for my to stay on the treadmill for more the 30 minutes. So while this workout wasn’t incredibly difficult even with the added incline, the determination to stay on that treadmill was.  I was a sweaty mess though from my face down my legs and arms.

After I showered, I prepared dinner and ate with the windows open to enjoy the cool breeze from the rain.

Dinner

For dinner:

  • Wegman’s Teriyaki Pork w/ a spoonful of Wegman’s Organic BBQ Sauce
  • Fresh Steamed String Beans
  • White Baked Potato w/ a spoonful of Plain Greek Yogurt

New York City Soda Ban

Last Thursday, New York City Board of Health announced their controversial ban on limiting the size of sugary drinks (16 oz. or less) at many entertainment areas to include restaurants and movie theaters.  I have been reading about the backlash and criticisms since.

I am not a soda drinker, but my husband is on occasion.  We often go back and forth on “how much is too much” mostly because I can’t understand the need for it or the taste (I can’t stand the carbonation).  A lot of the criticism I have been hearing include government control, but what I found most interesting is that they are limiting the ban in many forms.  Grocery stores stores are exempt from the law as well as alcoholic beverages and fruit drinks which sometimes contain too much sugar themselves.

Another theory, why New York City?  One of the biggest vacation cities in the country where people expect to come and enjoy themselves.  Now, they are limited to what they can order?  Shouldn’t it be there choice?  Are people taking this issue just a bit to seriously?  Isn’t 16 oz. enough?

Personally, the ban doesn’t effect me either way, but I think there are different approaches the government could make.  People are going to make their own decisions and having a few less oz. of soda isn’t going to make a huge difference if you consume it at every meal.

Thoughts?

Do you think the government is over stepping their boundaries?  Do you think other popular cities are close behind with the ban on sugary drinks?

Leave a comment below with your thoughts on this issue.

9 Responses to “New York City Soda Ban”

  1. Emily September 18, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    I have to chime in and say that I love carbonation. I seriously think that I crave fizzy drinks. How sad is that? As for the ban, I don’t have much of an opinion either way. If you want more to drink, then order more.

  2. uberbeastmode September 18, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    I’m with you on struggling to do much on the treadmill. It just kills me to stay on that thing. Go outside and run for 3 hours? No problem. Run 3 miles on a treadmill? I’ll probably get to 1 and stop. Most of the time now if I’m going to do treadmill work it’s in the form of HIIT. THAT’S something I enjoy!

    Also I love the ban in NY, but wish it was more strict. It’s a step in the right direction. I mean I get some of the points as to why people would be mad. But seriously, obesity in this country is out of hand and anything that could help I’m all for! If we want better healthcare in this country, we need people to get healthy.

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 19, 2012 at 6:35 pm #

      I enjoy HIIT workouts too! It makes the time fly by.

      You make some strong arguments on the NYC ban. I never thought of the idea of better healthcare, but that does seem very far off. Do you think this could escalate to other big cities sooner then later?

      Thanks for following 🙂

      • uberbeastmode September 19, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

        The healthcare thing is more than far off, but hey you have to start somewhere right? I don’t buy the whole argument that once you are an adult you shouldn’t have to have others protect you from yourself either. Like with Janet below saying “Banning anything of this sort is NOT the job of our government nor should it be.” I don’t know, should it really not? Could you then argue you might as well make cocaine and heroin legal then? I mean we SHOULD all know it’s bad for you right? I know it’s not the same thing, but you get my point. Sugary soda’s are like a drug, and they are most definitely addicting and extremely harmful to your health.

        No I don’t think other big cities will do it sooner rather then later. IF anyone is going to follow suit it won’t be for a while after they see how it worked out in NY. IMO

  3. fitandbusy September 18, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    I’m a treadmill person, I think because I trained on it for physical therapy so it stuck… and it’s way easier to time intervals when the machine does it for me 🙂

    As for the ban, I’m all about a healthier America, my job would be way easier if patients weighed a little less some days (and I’d have less patients). But, I don’t think it’s the government’s job to regulate it and I agree that a few ounces less won’t make a large difference so I’m concerned it will turn into a snowball effect. I think people, in general, need to start taking more responsibility.

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 19, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

      I agree with the time intervals. For shorter and interval runs, it gets the job, but I always have longer faster runs outside. I need the change in scenery to keep me motivated. I don’t even like running around my block more then once. Haha.

      Thanks for the comments and comparing it to your job (I think I read you are a nurse). Like others have already commented, if they want more their going to get more. It’s that simple.

      Thanks for following!

  4. Janet September 19, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Amen fitnandbusy, people SHOULD start taking responsibility for their actions. Banning anything of this sort is NOT the job of our government nor should it be. Regulation on personal preferences is a major infringement on our rights and freedoms as Americans. Why don’t they just put a ban on stupidity and be done with it. Common sense is really whats lacking in this country!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Apple Salad « Sand Between My Sneakers - October 10, 2012

    […] spend my lunch in the gym doing a “quick” and “simple” workout and chose my Simple Treadmill Circuit.  I should really think about changing that name…I was a sweaty mess.  Since I’ve […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

