Spaghetti Squash

17 Sep

One of my more inventive ways to save money on groceries is to have at least one to two meatless dinners a week.  While it’s only two of us, meat does take away a lot of our food budget sometimes.

Spaghetti squash has become a favorite fall dish in our house.  I made it for the first time last year after seeing it introduced on a fitness program and was intrigued at the ease of it.  I was a new wife learning how to cook for two and when I came home with a squash and told my new husband, we were having spaghetti, he was skeptic.

It turned out great and I’m excited that we’re back in season for a healthy “spaghetti” dish for the next couple months.  Spaghetti squash is great for special diets such as paleo and gluten free or if you’re simply watching your calorie and carb intake.

For more nutritional facts about spaghetti squash, check out this website.

How to Make Spaghetti Squash

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and fill a baking pan with a shallow amount of water.

Cut the spaghetti squash long ways and scoop seeds.  Place squash on water filled pan, skin down and put in preheated oven for 45 minutes.

While baking prepare your favorite homemade pasta sauce or semi-homemade pasta sauce.

I chose the semi-homemade route.

Classico Roasted Garlic Sauce, fresh mushrooms, onions, tomatoes, oregano and garlic powder

When 45 minutes has passed, remove the spaghetti squash and let cool.  The outside of the squash will be HOT!  Trust me on this one 😉

Once cool, take a fork and shred the inside of a squash to resemble spaghetti.

Add your sauce and a sprinkle of cheese and you have a low carb, low calorie “spaghetti” meal.

You may also consider adding salt, pepper or butter for a different taste or a side dish.  Some also have suggested that it is good with a taste of brown sugar for some added sweetness.

Enjoy!

How do you cut down on meat prices?

4 Responses to “Spaghetti Squash”

  1. Emily September 17, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

    Looks great! I love spaghetti squash. 🙂

  2. onefittwofit September 18, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    I can’t tell you how many times I’ve done almost this exact same meal (including jar sauce + extra veggies), thinking it must be really strange. I’m glad you tried it too! It really satisfies my craving for “pasta.”

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 18, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

      No way! Not strange at all 😉 I always add fresh vegetables to sauce even with regular pasta dishes. The more veggies that better and it always comes out different.

      One of my easier tricks is adding a box of frozen spinach to plain pasta sauce. It’s all about simple and healthy tricks some nights over here 🙂

  3. Janet September 19, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Looks yummy, I wonder if I could slide this by Dad?

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

