Assateague Island National Seashore

15 Sep

This morning, Ed and I had an early 5AM wake up call to start our trip to Assateague Island National Seashore.

We were off to a pretty good start.  Ed racked the bikes and I prepared an on the go, filling breakfast to keep us from stopping anywhere on our 2 hour drive.

I scrambled 4 eggs (2 each) with a splash of milk and shredded artisan cheese and put it on a toasted Nature’s Own Multi-Grain Sandwich Round with a travel mug of coffee and vanilla almond milk for the road.

It was filling, overflowing and cheesy!

By 6:15AM, we were outta there!

The island is located right outside of Ocean City, MD and is occupied by wild ponies and clean beaches with opportunities for running, biking and camping.  I had visited this island once with my family years ago and I knew Ed would enjoy the same experiences I had.

Our starting point.

While the biking bath is not incredibly long, we biked 10 miles and were lucky enough to run into a heard of wild ponies.

Is a group of wild ponies considered a “heard”?  I’m not sure, but we’re going to go with this.  There were close to a dozen on either side of the road and I immediately grabbed my camera to get some good shots.

All the ponies were quite the side show attraction for the morning.  While we were incredibly fortunate to have this experience, these ponies are wild and should not be approached less the 10 feet or more.  These ponies can kick and bite if alarmed and Ed and I followed the rules set out by the National Park about keeping out distance.  Park rangers were on site during this siting to make sure everyone was safe.  Safety first!

After we completed a good portion of our bike ride, we stopped to enjoy the beach and walk through some of the walking paths.

I love the beach and the ocean.  Absolutely in love.  I even found the most perfect shell for Ed to add to his fish tank at home.  We’ll see if he can actually use it.

The perfect shell!

While riding back to our car to head off the island for lunch, we realized that it was a special day around the park.

Maryland Coast Day

While the festivities were small, we enjoyed visiting all the stands and learning about the state and national parks in the area.  The Salisbury Zoo was my favorite attraction.  The had some of the most interesting owls.  They were intriguing.


After celebrating Maryland Cost Day, we headed back to the visitors center before heading out to lunch and afternoon activities.

His bike trip was fulfilled.

Time to go find lunch.

Do you enjoy seeing animals in there natural habitat or are you more comfortable seeing them at the zoo?

Ed and I love visiting the zoo, but seeing animals in their natural setting is rare and enjoyable.  Being from Ohio, I’m used to seeing many deer on a regular basis, but horses are always in a controlled environment.  That I know off.  I am not a bird watcher.  We visited the Toledo Zoo a few years back where the bird exhibits were in abundance.  Since then, I have had no interest.  Maybe my feelings will change one day.  😉

P.S. The Recipe Page was updated and had a revamp yesterday.  Take a look and let me know what you think 🙂

5 Responses to “Assateague Island National Seashore”

  1. kelly September 16, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    What a beautiful place! Looks so peaceful…

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 17, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

      It was beautiful! I would love to go back and camp there. There are areas you can camp right on the beach!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Harpoon Hanna’s and Ocean City Boardwalk « Sand Between My Sneakers - September 15, 2012

    […] heading to the beach area, we stopped by a nearby restaurant for lunch to refuel from our morning bike trip. Harpoon Hanna’s Restaurant and Tiki […]

  2. 100 Arm/Ab Workout « Sand Between My Sneakers - September 17, 2012

    […] weekend was full of activity, exercise, good food and football!  It’s weekends like these that either make me wonder why […]

  3. Assateague islands | Makulita - September 21, 2012

    […] Assateague Island National Seashore « Sand Between My Sneakers […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

