The Day I Broke Down in the Dentist Chair

13 Sep

This morning’s breakfast was gladly welcomed as it was leftover from the night before.  Ed worked late last night and I’m working on purging every ingredient in our pantry these days.  So, dinner/today’s breakfast was fun!

I linked back to my Semi-Homemade Banana Protein Pancakes when I found 3/4 cup of pancake mix left in the cupboard.

In the bowl:

  • ¾ cup pancake mix
  • Quaker Oats
  • Mashed Banana
  • Enough Skim Milk to get it to the perfect consistency

I omitted some items, but they turned out pretty darn good this time around (unlike last time where my skills lacked in the flipping department).

I chopped up a sweet potato, boiled and added a little syrup to both for some sweetness.

“Brinner!”

It was a delicious meal for these taste buds.  Ed doesn’t like breakfast for dinner and I am ALL for it.  If there was a law made that switched the two permanently, I’d vote for that.

The Day I Broke Down in the Dentist Chair

After my delicious breakfast at my desk while checking through emails, today was a pretty uneventful and low key day.  I ran a quick 2.8 mile run at lunch and left time for some needed stretching.  I was in such a great mood after my run!

After that, there were no extremely difficult tasks, no blow outs and the office AC chilled out and we actually shed the winter gear for the last couple hours.  Pretty good, so far.

At 3:30P I left to my dentist appointment, thrilled because it was going to be the last step of a very grueling process.

Backtrack.  Back in March(ish) 2011, I went to a new dentist that found a handful two handfuls of problems going around in my mouth.  I had my new job starting in 3 weeks and I was moving out of state in 2 weeks.

It.Was.Not.Fun.

The dentist did everything he could (and I really do believe that) with the time he had.  Once moved, married and enjoying new wedded bliss, I went for my routine cleaning to a dentist in Maryland.  They found more problems.  Let’s call this 3 handfuls (at least!).

Let me make myself clear.  I am an avid 2-3 brushes a day, floss at night, mouthwash often, doesn’t drink soda, doesn’t chew gum girl.  I visit the dentist twice a year for routine cleanings, but always come up with bad luck.

Anyways, this was in October 2011 and today was supposed to be my LAST appointment before this mess nightmare was behind me.

No such luck.

After a grueling and very painful experience getting all the material out (no Novocain, by the way), the dentist informs me that the tooth is chipped and everything has to be re-done.  That means painful adjusting, drilling (still no Novocain), molding and waiting 3 weeks for everything to come back and do it all over again.

I didn’t want to hear it and it showed…

I broke down in the dentist chair, flat on my back, looking up at the dentist and dental assistant on either side of me.  It was bad.  The tears didn’t stop flowing no matter how hard I tried to the point that I actually put my hands in the air and shouted, “I just need a minute!”

How drama queen of me, right?  😉

They were more than happy to let me be alone with not one, but two boxes of tissues.  I’m not sure how I got to that point.

Was it that painful jerking and pulling from before?  I just didn’t get it.

They returned and I complied with what I had to do for the next hour (let’s face it, I’m an expert in the dentist chair now…)

My next appointment is Oct. 2 which marks the 1 year point for this dentist and 17 month period of multiple dentists’ visits per month in the span of Ohio and Maryland.

I’m not writing this post for pity.  Today just wasn’t a “I worked out, ate a good meal and tried a new recipe kind of day”.

Just keepin it real folks! 😉

If you want to help me feel a little better, comment on today’s questions.

What’s your favorite meal?  What’s your least favorite meal?  Breakfast, lunch, dinner, brunch, “brinner”?

While I love me some eggs, pancakes or quiche for dinner, I actually don’t like breakfast in its traditional state.  I would much rather enjoy breakfast foods at night and have a bigger meal in the morning.  Does it happen often…no, but traditions are not always a bad thing.

4 Responses to “The Day I Broke Down in the Dentist Chair”

  1. Janet September 14, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    Awww….I’m so sorry about your mouth. I like breakfast for dinner too.

    • Elyse September 14, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      At least I have my teeth!

  2. onefittwofit September 19, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

    Oh god, I would have lost it too. But it’s great that you started your day really well. I have a dentist appointment coming up in a couple of weeks, and I’m dreading what I think will be bad news. I know there are a couple of small issues, and I am just terrified of drilling — never had it done before. Yikes.

    Thanks for keepin’ it real. 😉

    • Sand Between My Sneakers September 19, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

      Oh no, good luck! I’ve had a lifetime of drilling unfortunately. It runs in the family, but I know you will be fine! It’s better the have them fixed then have them pulled 🙂

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

