Keeping Things Interesting

8 Sep

Last nights plans didn’t quite work out, but Ed and I had some relaxing time together before we enter into our finals week of school.  Our evening included bad reruns of old TV shows (thank you Netflix) and this snack.

Homemade wine and Homemade Quesadillas.

Yeah, we’re real classy.

This morning, I woke up and worked on my finals before breaking for my run on the treadmill.  Since it’s still really hot here and I waited too late in the morning to get outside…the treadmill was where my long(er) run this week had to be.

I ran 60 minutes at a 10:54 minute pace with a 5 minute interval walk in the middle to mess with my Pandora station.

For lunch I prepared some leftover Fiesta “Lite” Chicken and a smoothie.

The smoothie was rather weak.  It tasted a little “chalky” this time.

In the smoothie we have:

  • 1 Frozen Banana
  • 1/2 scoop of Vanilla Protein Powder
  • 1 container Wegmans Black Cherry Greek Yogurt
  • 2 tsp. instant coffee
  • 2 tsp. cocoa powder
  • 1 handful frozen raspberries
  • Skim milk to get everything moving
  • Ice cubes

I think I went wrong with the raspberries when I should have chose frozen strawberries.  I still drank the whole thing though 😉

Keeping Things Interesting

I have been reading a lot of posts from friends and family about losing interest in terms of exercising and dieting.  I can totally relate to this mentality.  It’s easy to fall into a routine of working out in your “comfort zone”, working  only one part of your body at the same measure and eventually not seeing results anymore only to give it up altogether.

Here is my input on keeping exercise interesting.  I once watched a trainer on TV explain that “nobody will ever be an expert at working out”.  In other words, don’t take exercising so seriously.  If you treat exercise like its a chore, that’s all that it will ever be.  Mix it up and do things that you really love doing.  When that gets to be too easy, find something new that you love or are interested in to challenge yourself and don’t forget to reward yourself for reaching your goals, large or small. (My favorite rewards are a pedicure after I run a race or a big breakfast that does not include protein powder ;-))  No one should ever say you “have” to run a marathon or you “have” to be a heavy weight lifter.  Do what works best for you and keeps you working towards your own goals.

Look at exercising as exciting and fun and not as a chore.  Keep an open mind and recognize the privilege it is to build a healthy and active lifestyle.

http://fitgirlhappygirl.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/run-for-those-who-cant.jpg

(Source)

Question of the Afternoon:

What is your favorite way to keep in shape?  How do you keep exercising interesting?

While running is perfect for me to set goals, I LOVE and miss Les Mills body routines.  At my old gym, I was a big advocate of Body Step and Body Pump.  One day, I hope to find another good gym in the area that offers these classes.  Before moving, I was approached at becoming a Body Step instructor…don’t think that goal has not entered my head for after graduation 😉

One Response to “Keeping Things Interesting”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. SlimKicker « Sand Between My Sneakers - September 10, 2012

    […] past posts, I have explained my take on keeping health and fitness interesting to avoid looking at working out […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

