Two Step Shredded Chicken

6 Sep

Let’s breeze through the workout today so I can get to my newest and easiest chicken recipe.

Today’s workout concentrated on my arms.

tone it up girls arm workout

(Source: Tone It Up)

I did this workout 3x around and used two 10 lb dumb bells for the bicep curls.  Circuit workouts really are the best workouts for me.  Time flies and your body never gets used to the same exercise for to long.  While I enjoy running because the atmosphere changes, being in one part of the gym for to long is boring.  I have been known to run from room to room using different machines and weights to get the workout I’m challenged by that day in. I’m happy to supply people with the laughter as they watch 🙂

When I got back to the locker room, I sneezed and felt a huge pinch in my abs from those tummy tucks (I did mine like mountain climbers, I think they are about the same).  Needless to say, I will be incorporating more ab routines stat!

Two Step Shredded Chicken

One of my favorite “go to” recipes to have on hand for the week is shredded chicken.  It’s great to add to soup, salads or eat plain on its own with a little BBQ or dressing.

I was thrilled to learn a quick crock pot recipe so I can make the chicken one day and have it on hand for lunches and dinners the following two days for Ed and I.

Ingredients

  • Boneless Chicken Breasts
  • Chicken Broth

That’s it.

Add the chicken breasts to the crock pot (mine were still a little bit on the frozen side, no big deal) and submerge in the chicken broth (I used two cans of low sodium chicken broth).

Submerge the chicken.

I didn’t want to open a whole additional can of chicken broth, so I added a small amount of water to cover the chicken completely.

Set on Low  for 6-8 hours and walk away.

Almost complete.

Once cooked, remove from the crock pot and let cool.

Once cool, shred using two forks.

Enjoy as is with a side of veggies or potatoes or save to add to your lunch salad or soup the next day.

For lunch today, I ate my chicken with a splash of Wegman’s Organic BBQ with raw red peppers, grapes and yogurt on the side.

I’ve been tapping into my inner Robin Miller and I have a new recipe to try with the remaining chicken that we didn’t finish from dinner last night and lunch today with a healthy twist.

What’s your favorite “go to” meal?

One Response to “Two Step Shredded Chicken”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fiesta “Lite” Chicken « Sand Between My Sneakers - September 7, 2012

    […] new things into my dishes at home to “lighten up” my Mexican cravings.  Yesterday I shared my Two Step Shredded Chicken recipe and also indicated that I was channeling my inner Robin Miller with his quick fix meals that she […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

