Singing While Working Out

5 Sep

Today I revisited one of my favorite cardio intervals and put my own spin on things.  While I was in the mood for a longer cardio workout, I seriously wasn’t feeling those squat jumps.  So, when I came to the 5 minute circuit, I changed mine up a bit to look like this.

5 Minute Circuit

1 minute Push Ups (on knees)

1 minute Jumping Jacks

1 minute Mountain Climbers

1 minute Full Squats

1 minutes Low Squats

Not too shabby.

Singing  While Working Out

The gym at my apartment complex is great, but it’s on the smaller side.  It was two small rooms.  One side has cardio equipment (treadmills, elliptical and stationary bikes) and the other has strength training equipment.  While I typically do not listen to music while working out (I know, “GASP!”), when I use the elliptical or treadmill, I do make the exception.

While I was working on my circuits, I was using the space on the strength training side when another guy walked in to run on the treadmill.  I didn’t think anything of it, until I heard an unfamiliar voice that was not coming from my headphones.  I took them off and noticed the guy was singing full blast to “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” by Deep Blue Something from his headphones.

Now, while many might think this is funny, I felt incredibly uncomfortable.  I’m pretty positive the guy had no idea I was 10 feet away from his singing debut.  To be fair, when I went for my last elliptical round I tried to make my presence know, but he was distracted by the lyrics.

Now while I have probably been caught singing to myself on occasion in the car, cooking dinner, cleaning, I can honestly say I have never sang while sweating at the gym, but considered the extra boost that it might give me while running.  I just have different music taste then this guy…

While Ed and I are getting ready to train for the Disney Half Marathon in January, I’m thinking there may be a few Disney classics making my playlists.  Pandora has not disappointed yet.  🙂

  • I Just Can’t Wait to Be King – The Lion King
  • Under the Sea – The Little Mermaid
  • Be Prepared – The Lion King
  • Any song from the Tarzan Soundtrack (Phil Collins)

I love Disney music!

I can feel readers rolling their eyes as I type this.

I can’t wait to find more upbeat music for my race training to get ready to run through the Magic Kingdom. 😉

Question of the Evening:

Do you sing to yourself to pass time?  What’s on your ideal workout playlist?

Don’t forget to “Follow” or “Like” Sand Between my Sneakers by clicking the links to your right!

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

