Unique Races

29 Aug

Today’s lunch workouts were quick and challenging.  I warmed up with a short and sweet 20 minute cardio session on the treadmill all at a 1.0 incline.  I ended it with an abdominal workout before heading back to work.  Those jack knife sit ups got me good this time around and I love doing Russian twists.  I feel the burn through my whole abdomen working.

Treadmill workout--(Source: Itty Bits of Balance)          I like this one!(Source: Back on Pointe)

Due to lack of time, lunch was quick a much more filling than anticipated.

Lunch

I prepared two ham wraps that included apple wood ham, spring mix greens and horseradish mustard on corn tortillas.  I included a side of carrots and a black plum.  For a cold beverage, I whipped up a peach vanilla protein drink.

In there you will find…

  • 1 Yoplait Vanilla Yogurt
  • 1 big scoop of cottage cheese
  • 1 White Peach
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (optional)
  • 2 ice cubes
  • Soymilk, enough to get everything moving

Unique Races

Yesterday I had a conversation with a friend about running races in the future.  We always seem to email each other when we find the next best race or challenge that we want to try.

Warrior Dash Maryland – May 2012

I’m more adventurous when it comes to choosing my races.  There are SO many unique ones out there that it’s hard for me to run one more than once.  I like the challenge of the unexpected hill or obstacle that I didn’t see coming.  After a quick Google search, I came up with some of the most unique races I could find in the United States.

  1. Krispy Kreme Challenge, Raleigh, NC – Runners are required to run 2 miles AND eat a full box of donuts before running 2 miles back to finish.  My question is, are you disqualified if the donuts come back up?
  2. Impossible 5K, Woodstock, GA – Two things make this 5K unique.  1) It takes place at 1:50 AM.  2) It takes place on Daylight Savings Time.  Therefore, your time when you finish will most likely be in the negative digits!  Impossible in any other race?  Uh, yeah!
  3. The Zombie Chase – “The Only 5K Worth Dying For.”  Um, CREEPY!
  4. Wife Carrying Race – Husbands complete obstacles while wives enjoy the ride on their back.  Yeah…no. This is actually a sport for some!  Check out this video from the UK on YouTube.
  5. Muddy Buddy – First you need a buddy—who will also get muddy.  Run 6 miles with 5 obstacle separations that are mysteries for everyone.
  6. Halloween Half and 5K – Said to be the “craziest” Halloween Race out there and it’s all down hill!
  7. Twinkie Run, Ann Arbor, MI – Runners run two loops and have to indulge in a cream filled Twinkie each loop.  Every Twinkie you eat means 1 minute off your time.  Bring them on!
  8. Dog Day 5K, Minneapolis, MN – A race for man and his best friend.  Have a small dog?  Strollers welcome 🙂
  9. Santa Speedo Run, Boston, MA – Strap on your holiday Speedo and run through the cold streets of Boston in December.  Sure to be a crowd pleasing event.
  10. Beer Belly Run, Green Bay,  WI – Ever half mile, indulge in a cold one.  Beer belly not required to enter…

Well, there are 10 of the most unique races I could find.  Notice how many of them require eating bad food.  How do you keep it down?

It’s pedicure night with my friend, Tina and Le Madeline’s for some yummy coffee drinks after that.

Enjoy your afternoon.

Question of the Afternoon:

What crazy races have you seen/participated in lately?

Check out my new pages at the top of my home page.  Use them for quick references for workouts and recipes I’ve featured on my blog!

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

