Babies and a New Recipe

19 Aug

This morning was my first assignment in the nursery at our church.  Originally I was assigned to “Crawlers” but they moved me into the infant room where they were in desperate need of help.  They had 7 babies ranging from 2 months – 5 months and since late service is right in the middle of morning nap/feeding, your just never know what kind of day you are going to have.

“I didn’t care, I was in baby heaven!”

My first little guy was 2.5 months as well as his twin sister.  As preemies, these two still had a lot of growing to do, but they were very content in their swings which allowed open arms for the older and fussier ones.  My next little one was a very sweet and very clingy girl.

“You pick me up; don’t even think about putting me down.”

We eventually had to call mom for feeding as instructed.  She was ready to eat.  Next, I held and fed the sweetest little princess of the morning.  Her mom and older sisters came in after service and were thrilled to see her so content.  They even took our picture as it was her first day in the church nursery.

“It’s the little things that make the best memories.”

Overall, it was a great morning and I’m excited that Ed and I are finding ways to serve in our new church.  Since moving, finding a church and then committing has been difficult, but we’re starting to get involved little by little.  Ed spent the morning in service with the new pastor and came out quite excited about the message.  I think we finally found our home church in Maryland (We’ve only been going here every Sunday since November, but no biggie.)

Dinner tonight, as promised, is a new twist on chicken parmesan.  The original recipe can be found at the Six Sisters’ Stuff blog here.  I can’t stop checking this blog for new and easy recipes and this one didn’t disappoint.

Often while reading about the six sisters, I wonder what life would be like growing up with six teenage girls under one roof.  I’m blessed to have a family in my life with 6 sisters and 1 brother as well.  Family gatherings are nothing less than fun and loud, but I love it!  I think when I first met them, they all were concerned I would be scared off, but that was far from the truth.  Having a big family was always a dream and as Ed and I think about our future family, we couldn’t picture it without every single one of them.

Now, let’s talk dinner.

Avocado Chicken Parmesan (See the bottom of this post for full recipe)

  • First, I set the oven to 350 degrees and set up my assembly line for coating the halved chicken breasts with breadcrumbs.

Don’t mess with this line up.

  • After that, I placed the chicken in the oven for 10 minutes and prepared the toppings.

Raw Chicken

  • After 10 minutes, I removed the chicken and topped with 1-2 Tsp. of tomato sauce, 2 avocado slices and mozzarella cheese.

More cheese please!

  • Place back in the oven for 10-15 minutes until chicken is cooked through. (I did 18 minutes and it was perfect.  You can never be too careful with raw chicken!)

  • We served our chicken with salad, but it would probably taste equally as good with pasta!

Dinner Time!

Fantastic!  My husband gave it the thumbs for future meals.

“Winning!”

I asked Ed to stop and pick up “an avocado” for me yesterday while he was out so I could create tonight’s dish and this is what came home with him.

“Holy Guacamole!”

“Ask and you shall receive…in abundance”

His argument was that I was not specific of the amount.  My argument was that I asked for “an avocado”.  You be the judge.

“Guacamole anyone?”

Now, it’s time to relax.  Goodnight!

Question of the Evening

How are you serving in your church and/or community? 

Avocado Chicken Parmesan Recipe (As featured on Six Sisters’ Stuff)

Ingredients:
2 Chicken Breast Fillets, halved lengthways
1/4 cup melted butter
1 1/2 Cups Dried Breadcrumbs
1/2 Cup Tomato Pasta Sauce
2 Avocados Sliced
1/2 Cup Grated Mozzarella Cheese

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees

Place breadcrumbs in a bowl and and melted butter in a bowl.

Dip your thawed chicken in your melted butter and then into the breadcrumbs- cover the whole chicken with breadcrumbs

Place the breadcrumb chickens on a baking tray that is lined with foil and bake for 10 minutes

Remove from oven and on each chicken breast spread 1 heaped tablespoon of pasta sauce. Arrange avocado slices over sauce and sprinkle with decent amount of mozzarella cheese.

Return to oven and bake for another 10 to 15 minutes or until golden and chicken is cooked through.

One Response to “Babies and a New Recipe”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Goals | Striving to Enjoy Life While Staying Active and Healthy - August 21, 2012

    […] this week I spent my first Sunday in the nursery at church.  Today was their fall kick-off, so I had less then 2 days to get my application […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

