“He’s Still Workin’ On Me.”

18 Aug

“He’s still workin’ on me.
To make me what I oughta be.
It took him just a week to make the moon and the stars.
The sun and the earth and Jupiter and Mars.
How loving and patient he must be.
‘Cause he’s still workin’ on me.”

Someone posted the above Sunday School tune on Facebook last week and I have been humming and meditating on the words ever since.  Last night was a little rough and humbling.  I deserved the words I received and took them with lots of thought and prayer and hope that mine will be taken equally in the form of the apology I gave.  I know this doesn’t fix everything, but it’s better then where we were.  God’s still working on me, and He’s not done with me yet!

Workout

This morning I was itching to try the Treadmill Tabata Workout I stumbled across this week.  For those that don’t know, Tabata workouts consist of doing high intensity interval exercises for 20 seconds and have 10 seconds of rest in between.

(Source: In Sweetness and in Health)

I was drenched in sweat after the warm up and first interval!  What a crazy good workout.  I did adjust the speed after the first 9.  That was a little tough for me at a 4.5 incline, but I did return to the 9 at the end when we were at a 0 incline.  Talk about crazy cardio.  I will be trying this one again.

“Next time, I’m bringing a towel.”

Breakfast

Even after a sweaty workout, I was not in the mood for a protein smoothie.

“All I wanted was water!”

So breakfast is a new one today.

Ingredients:

  • Pancake Mix
  • 1/2 scoop Vanilla Protein Powder
  • 1/4 cup Old Fashion Oats
  • 1/4 cup Cottage Cheese
  • 1 tsp. Vanilla Extract
  • 1 Ripe Banana Mashed
  • Make your base pancake mix according to the package. (I used 1 cup Hungry Jack Buttermilk mix and added 3/4 cup water.)

Don’t stop there!

  • Add remaining ingredients and blend together. (I didn’t really measure much, I just eyeballed it till I met the consistency I was looking for.)

Eyeballing counts as measuring, right?

  • Get your griddle hot and prepare.

Hotcakes!

  • If desired, add syrup or other fruit or nuts for additional flavor (I used syrup for some sweetness!)

Semi-Homemade Banana Protein Pancakes

These turned out pretty good, which is more then I can say for the next round of pancake flipping…

“Womp, womp…”

“I need to work on my skills…”

Off to start the afternoon.  Ed’s at work today, so I’m on my own.

Happy Saturday!

One Response to ““He’s Still Workin’ On Me.””

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Day I Broke Down in the Dentist Chair « Sand Between My Sneakers - September 13, 2012

    […] linked back to my Semi-Homemade Banana Protein Pancakes when I found 3/4 cup of pancake mix left in the […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

