Simmering Summer Chili

17 Aug

Tonight’s dinner was a cry for good comfort food.  However, at 80 degrees plus humidity in Maryland in August, the idea of a hot bowl of soup was not what I wanted to see on the menu.

I bought some fresh zucchini and squash earlier this week and have been searching for fun and easy recipes to try with them.  The number one recipe I’ve been seeing on the blogs and on the web is Summer Chili.  Of course, I never have all the ingredients that all these recipes need.  So, I started having some fun around the kitchen and this it what I came up with.

Ingredients

1 pound ground beef
1 onion
1 zucchini
1 yellow squash
1 can kidney beans
1 can diced tomatoes
1-2 teaspoons of chili powder
1-2 teaspoons of garlic powder
olive oil for drizzle

  1. Drizzle olive oil in pan with chopped onion, zucchini and squash over medium heat stove top.
  2. Allow to sizzle 5-10 minutes until vegetables soften up
  3. Add ground beef and let brown
  4. Remove any juices from pan
  5. Add remaining ingredients
  6. Turn to low heat and allow to simmer for about 45 minutes to let all the juices sink in

“Simmer, Simmer!”

I topped my chili with plain Greek yogurt while Ed opted for traditional cheese.

“Hellloooo Extra Creaminess!”

Serve and enjoy!

Simmering Summer Chili

And that’s it!  SO easy and a great way to ‘chop’ away the days downers.  The Greek yogurt on chili is new to me, but will be making an appearance again.  I usually opt for cheese, but the Greek yogurt gave a creamy flavor that I didn’t expect.  I love it!

Now time to relax for the evening.

Goodnight everyone!

Question of the Evening:

What are some of your favorite comfort foods?

One Response to “Simmering Summer Chili”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Strange Encounters « Sand Between My Sneakers - September 20, 2012

    […] was a last look at Simmering Summer Chili minus the zucchini.  While ending my run, I ran through some of the prettiest auburn sun colors.  […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

