Good Intentions

17 Aug

This morning came with good intentions, but everything kinda fell out of place from step one.

My plan was to wake up at 5AM (the same time I wake up for work each morning) on my day off.  Well, that didn’t happen.  I rolled out at around 8AM.  I’m convinced my bed had some kinda of hold on me.

Next, I had every intention to run 4.5 miles on the trail this morning.  The first 2 miles were perfect, but then my body started talking to me.  My shoulders and chest muscles chimed in to remind me of yesterdays arm workout and then my stomach to let me know I hadn’t fed it quite right pre-running.  The last mile turned into a run/walk.

“I guess that banana and glass of water just wasn’t enough…”

My biggest challenge as a runner is fueling properly.  When I ran the Cherry Blossom 10-miler in April 2012 (my longest race to date), I trained well and thought I had a great system I could stick with that would control my overly sensitive stomach.  However, at mile 9, nausea crept POUNDED in and disappointingly I had to break just when I should have been sprinting to the finish line.  I have a few races lined up for the remainder of this year and my longest race to date in January, the Disney World 1/2 Marathon.  Time to create some new habits.

“Come oooon muscle memory!”

Even though this mornings workout did not go as I had originally intended, I still created a refreshing smoothie pick-me-up to get ready for a lot of errand running.

“Now, post workout fueling…I know how to do this!”

Ingredients

  • Frozen Banana
  • Frozen Strawberries
  • Plain Greek Yogurt (left over from yesterday’s Simmering Summer Chili topping)
  • 1 tsp. Cocoa Powder
  • 1-2 tsp. Instant Coffee
  • Vanilla Protein Powder
  • Vanilla Almond Milk

Looking good!

Blend with desired amount of ingredients and you have the perfect caffeinated breakfast shake after a sweaty workout or a hot summer morning.

Coffee Berry Smoothie

This was quite tasty.  I have noticed many people putting a dash of cocoa in their smoothies and I’ll admit, coffee and chocolate have never been a killer combo for me, but this worked!  I needed the pick-me-up to run this afternoons errands and I’m sure this will keep me going just fine 😉

Have a great afternoon!

Question of the Afternoon

How do you fuel properly for your pre and post workouts?

One Response to “Good Intentions”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Freebie Friday | Beach Saturday - August 17, 2012

    […] cashier and she was very serious about me trying the iced latte after I asked for iced tea.  After this mornings smoothie, I wasn’t feeling the coffee.  She then switched to the Coolata and I accepted with the […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

