Freebie Friday

17 Aug

After my morning post, I spent the early afternoon running some errands and cashing in on some birthday freebies that came in last month.

First stop, Columbia Mall.  I am not a fan of the mall mostly.  We still have some gift cards from our wedding nearly a year ago and I had some birthday gifts cards that I received.  I thought I’d try and “declutter” and use them up.

“Shouldn’t be to difficult, right?”

Wrong!  The reason I am not a fan of malls is because I’m a terrible shopper.  I second guess everything and I’m very budget savvy.  So, when I realized that most of the stores I was going to usually have coupons every other week (Macy’s, Bath and Body Works) I decided to wait.  I did cash in on a couple girly freebies though.

Aveda and Victoria’s Secret

The Aveda was a “Free Full Size Product” for my birthday and the Victoria’s Secret was a Free “No Purchase Necessary” item.  Does anyone else get these as much as I do?  I’m not complaining, but I get these seriously every other month.  The Aveda product is a “total body cleansing wash” that was infused with lavender citrus.  Oh, and it smells so, so good!

Next stop, Dunkin Donuts for my Free Birthday Drink!  Silvia was my cashier and she was very serious about me trying the iced latte after I asked for iced tea.  After this mornings smoothie, I wasn’t feeling the coffee.  She then switched to the Coolata and I accepted with the choice of Strawberry.

“Free Strawberry!”

I have to say, Silvia knew what she was talking about!

“I approve this beverage.”

Last stop was Wegmans for a little shopping for the weekend.  The Wegmans by us just opened this summer and they keep sending free product coupons in the mail.  I needed bananas and peppers and find they are the cheapest there, so I made the trip.

IMAG0161.jpg

The above picture cost out of pocket, $13.71.  The breakdown worked out like this:

  • Basil Vinaigrette Dressing – Free w/ $10 purchase
  • Wegmans Romaine Salad Mix – Free w/ $10 purchase
  • Mega Pack of Red Peppers – $5.49 (At my other grocery store, these are 2/$5 on sale.  Wegmans price is 6/$5.49 and they taste great!)
  • (4) Wegmans Greek Yogurts – After $1/4 coupon, $2.56 or $.64 each
  • A Bunch of Bananas – $1.40 (At my other grocery store, these are $.69/lb. Wegmans price is $.49/lb.  Yes, the price makes a difference for me.  I go through a lot of bananas!)
  • Wegmans Vanilla Ice Cream and (3) 16 oz. bags of frozen veggies – $4.46 for all four products after $1/$5 of frozen food products

I love coupon shopping and considered starting a couponing blog like the so many that are out there.  However, those men and women work hard!  There are so many great deals out there and I love learning from them, but coupon blogging is not for me.  I’m going to stick with lifestyle blogging instead.  Here are a couple of my all time favorite coupon blogs:

  • The Krazy Coupon Lady – Great reference for pharmacy stores, big box stores (like Target and Walmart) and certain grocery stores.
  • Couponing to Disney – Great ideas on how to use the money saved from couponing to pay off debt or saving for your next family vacation.
  • The Frugal Girls – Great at home savings tips and tricks.

I am a firm believer that buying things you need and will use with coupons and stocking up is okay because it frees up the money in the grocery budget you need for your fresh items.

“Like more bananas!”

Once I was done shopping this afternoon, I came home to knock out my assignments for this week so I can enjoy the rest of my weekend school free!

Tonight I have some personal business to attend to that I have been putting off.

Cheers to the weekend!

Question of the Afternoon:

How do you cut cost at the grocery store?

4 Responses to “Freebie Friday”

  1. thecleverspender August 20, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    Ugh! I have been terrible lately with cutting costs at the grocery store and eating out! I do so much better with cutting costs when I plan my menu. I have tried planning bi-weekly, but weekly is more reasonable for me right now. First I shop my cabinets/freezer to plan the meals, then I check the sales. When I am on top of things, I have stock piled a little bit – matching coupons with the sales and can base menus using those ingredients (like pasta, sauce, and things that have a bit of a shelf life).

    • Elyse August 20, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

      Those are all great tips! Even with just the two of us, I still try and make it to the store weekly to pick up fresh items and stock on freezer items, such as chicken, beef and seafood when they are on sale or are marked down for quick sale (That’s the best!). By stocking up on the meat and main dishes, it makes it easier for me to plan around what I have. “Shopping” your own cabinets is a great tip and often overlooked. It’s amazing what we find in there sometimes 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In My Cart – Harris Teeter | Everyday Life - August 24, 2012

    […] I have pointed out before, I enjoy saving money using coupons and shopping sales for everything.  Not only do my husband and I save money for school, a down payment on our first […]

  2. In My Cart – Harris Teeter « Sand Between My Sneakers - September 9, 2012

    […] I have pointed out before, I enjoy saving money using coupons and shopping sales for everything.  Not only do my husband and I save money for school, a down payment on our first […]

Leave a Reply

Fitness and Frozen Grapes

Sweating, eating, and living my life as a young college graduate

A Smashing Good Life

life. wellth. style.

The Sassy Swan

Adventures in the life of a Sassy Northerner living in the South

Peanut Butter and Adrenaline

Stories of a recent college grad figuring out and running through life

Fit 'N' Well Mommy

Being a mommy doesn't always mean sacrifice

Racing & Wandering

By: Racing the States

Healthy Runner Wife

Lose weight, tone up and learn to live a long healthy life

active duty foodie

Fit, full and fabulous!

She's Losing It!

A Fitness Blog - My Bikini Project

Colin DeWaay Training

One Dad's passion for health and fitness and balancing it with family life.

thedancingrunner

living, dancing, running, loving life...

Strong Like My Coffee

A Student-Athlete Perspective on Nutrition, Exercise and Being Healthy!

Muddy Mommy

Adventures in Mud Racing, Marathons, & being a Mommy!

Run, 'Pump, Stretch, and Repeat.

A blog about training for a half-marathon and random rambles.

Running In My Pearls

Where Fitness is Defined as Beautiful. XO.

OneFitTwoFit

I am Fit. Fit I am.

fit and busy

"If you don't make time for fitness now, you will have to make time for sickness later"

